HOME   

Frequently Asked Questions

 

We often receive phone calls asking for information regarding registration for the training classes as well as other questions related to the service of process. We have compiled a few of the most frequently asked questions. Please review this file before calling.
Question: How much should I charge to serve process.

Answer: That question has so many variables that it is impossible to give a firm amount. It depends upon the individual circumstance, the location of your business, and the usual fees charged by other process servers in your area. A call to the District Clerk can usually reveal the fees that the county officers are charging.

We can offer one firm suggestion - do not try to undercut the prices the established servers are charging.  That is a sure way to go broke and make some unfriendly associates while you are going out of business.

Question:  Will a conviction for a criminal charge prohibit me from being appointed to serve process.

Answer:  Probably not. The Board has approved felons as process servers. A conviction for a felony may cause the Board to deny your appointment as could a crime of "Moral Turpitude." It will be at the discretion of the Process Servers Review Board.  However, you may request an Administrative Hearing if you are denied.

Question: How long after I attend the training class will I be appointed by the Court.

Answer: It depends on several factors. First you must obtain a background report from the Texas Department of Public Safety. This may take several weeks. After you submit your application, along with the report from DPS, the Board will consider it on the last Friday of the month if there are no convictions indicated on the background report. If there is any conviction, no matter how minor, the application will be considered at the next quarterly meeting of the Board.

Question: How much does it cost to become a process server.

Answer: The class tuition is $100.00. The DPS background fee is $15.00. Most fingerprint entities charge $10.00. There are no other related charges.

Question:  I am a licensed or registered private investigator. May I obtain continuing education credit for attending the RPSA process server training?

Answer: No.

Question: I am a Texas licensed or registered private investigator. Does that authorize me to serve process issues by the Texas courts.

Answer:  No.  Only a  Sheriff, Deputy Sheriff, Constable, Deputy Constable, persons authorized by law, or a person authorized by the court may serve process issued by a Texas court.  There is no law that authorizes a P.I. to serve citations and other notices.

Subpoenas, both state and federal, and a Federal Summons may be served by any disinterested party who is over the age of 18 years.

Question.  Can my local Sheriff or Police Department record my finger prints to send to the JBCC?



        Answer: No. The State of Texas has granted a contract to a private company that does all non- criminal fingerprints for a number of different purposes. See the JBCC web for details.